Stop Diabetes Gala: 2014 Award Recipients

Stop Diabetes Extraordinary Effort, Ordinary Day Gala
2014 Award Recipients

This year’s Gala is Saturday, May 3, 2014 at Treasure Island Resort & Casino.  At this event we honor four leaders in our community with the Stop Diabetes Awards: Share, Act, Learn and Give.  This year we are honoring organizations and individuals whose tireless efforts have supported the mission of the American Diabetes Association.  Their contributions have helped make the lives of people with diabetes better through their leadership.  Because of their commitment we move closer to the vision of ADA: a life free of diabetes and all its burdens.

Chuck and Cindy Halstenson • Share Award
For sharing their time, talents and resources with the American Diabetes Association for more than 10 years through volunteering, donating and supporting numerous events and programs.  Through their generosity they have helped raise awareness on diabetes and supported the mission of the American Diabetes Association.

Optum • Act Award
For their efforts in the workplace to engage employees to live a healthier lifestyle through participation in the American Diabetes Association’s Twin Cities Tour de Cure.  Their efforts resulted in 221 participants on their Tour de Cure Team in 2013.

Allina Health • Learn Award
For their Insulin Quick Start Program which allows for same-day initiation of insulin therapy.  Allina is the first Minnesota health system to implement this program.  The Insulin Quick Start Program is critical because it allows patients to start on insulin the same day it is determined by their provider that it is needed.  This program has proven to reduce A1c, average estimated blood glucose which in turn can lead to reduced diabetes complications.

Paul’s Pedalers • Give Award
For participating as a team in the Twin Cities Tour de Cure and raising $135,000 over 12 years in support of the American Diabetes Association. Paul’s Pedalers has consistently been a top friends and family team and holds the local record for consecutive participation by a team.

For more information on the Gala and how you can help, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *